retour accueil

European microscopy award

In 2020, two awards were offered by the European Microscopy Society (EMS) and sponsored by JEOL Europe, one for the life sciences, the other for the materials sciences (both including respective instrumental and methodological developments). The value of each prize was € 3,000. The winners of the award were announced at the virtual EMS General Assembly on August 27, 2020.

The European Microscopy Award is a quadrennial prize offered scientist and/or physicians working in the field of Microscopy.

Candidates for the prize are nominated by: an EMS member microscopy society, a group of scientists headed by an EMS member, an individual EMS member or an ECMA member.

Applications should contain: i) a resumé (CV), ii) a list of publications, iii) pdfs of five publications that best support the candidacy (the candidate should be (one of) the leading author(s) of these publications), iv) an appraisal and justification written by the proposer.

Proposals should be received by e-mail at the Secretariat of the EMS before January 31st of the year of the EMC.

Candidates will be evaluated by a jury of six members, selected by the Executive Board of EMS in the year preceding the call. The Executive Board of EMS is responsible for the scientific competence of the jury and the jury is responsible for a balanced evaluation of the applications, based on their scientific quality. The materials sciences and the life sciences will be represented in equal numbers in the jury. The President of EMS is the non-voting chairman of the jury. It is left to the discretion of the chairman of the jury to balance and process the evaluations of the individual jury members in the light of their different fields of expertise. The names of the members of the jury will be made public at the EMC.

The prize will be awarded on the basis of the quality and originality of scientific achievements in any field of microscopy, obtained during the five years preceding the application. All modes of microscopy are included. The successful candidates and all proposers will be informed about the decision of the jury at the latest by June 1st of the same year.

Each successful candidate will receive free registration at the EMC and will deliver a keynote lecture during a plenary celebration session. The full texts (4-6 pages) of these presentations will be printed in the EMS Yearbook.

An additional objective, but not a condition, of the EMAward is to support scientists at a stage of their career at which the award will have a maximal impact on their future career. Proposers should indicate in their written appraisal and justification the extent to which the award would help to support the professional opportunities of the applicant. The importance of the candidate’s work for the advancement of European science should be mentioned. The quality of the scientific work remains the principal criterion for the award.

Microscopy Societies in Europe are requested to make every effort to inform their membership about the prize.


2020 winners (sponsored by JEOL)

Sara Bals, EMAT-University of Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium. Category Physical/Materials Sciences and Optics. Awarded for her outstanding achievements in the field of 3D electron tomography.

Emmanuel Beaurepaire, Lab for optics and biosciences - Polytechnique CNRS INSERM, Palaiseau, France. Category Life Sciences Physical/Materials Sciences and Optics. Awarded for his outstanding achievements in the fields of novel, cutting-edge light microscopy techniques.


2016 winners (sponsored by JEOL)

Dr. Angus Kirkland (Department of Materials - University of Oxford - UK) was selected as the winner of the Materials Sciences award (including instrumental and methodological developments) for outstanding achievements in theoretical and instrumental areas such as pioneering exit-wave reconstruction, EM ptychography and detector design.

Dr. Niels de Jonge (INM - Leibniz Institute for New Materials - Germany) was selected as the winner of the Life Sciences award (including instrumental and methodological developments) for outstanding achievements in instrumentation to enable liquid in-situ experiments for the life sciences and nanotechnology.


2012 winners (sponsored by FEI)

Physical/Materials Sciences and OpticsMathieu Kociak, Laboratoire de Physique des Solides, Université Paris-Sud, France: "Geometric Phase and the Electron Microscope"

Life SciencesYves Dufrêne, Institute of Condensed Matter and Nanosciences Bio and Soft Matter of the Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium: "Atomic force microscopy: a nanoscopic window on the cell surface"

2008 winners (sponsored by FEI)

Physical/Materials Sciences and OpticsMartin Hytch, CEMES-CNRS, Toulouse: "Enlightening electrons"

Life SciencesOhad Medalia, The Ben-Gurion University, Beer-Sheva : "The Molecular Architecture ofIntegrin-mediated Cell Adhesion Revealed by Cryo-Electron Tomography"

2004 winners (sponsored by FEI)

Life SciencesJose M. Valpuesta, Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia, CS IC, Campus Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, 28049 Madrid, Spain

Physics & Materials SciencesJeremy Sloan, Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory & Dept. Materials, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK (paper published in the EMS Yearbook 2005)


By navigating through this website's pages, you accept the use of cookies that will allow us to manage this website's statistics.