

Josef ZWECK, EMS President



Virginie SERIN, EMS Secretary

## Dear colleagues,

Many of us have spent an amazing week at the 16th European Microscopy Congress (EMC), which was held in Lyon from 28 August to 2 September 2016. EMC2016 gathered around 2500 visitors from 54 countries all over the World. Along with an international and multidisciplinary high quality conference, EMC2016 hosted Europe's largest exhibition dedicated to microscopy. The congress also offered a great number of training and scientific activities underlining the dynamism of European research.

Lyon 2016 was for sure a milestone in the series of EMC Conferences. As highlighted by the Congress President Mr. Thierry Epicier: "Compared to previous editions (Aachen 2008, Manchester 2012), we have received a record-breaking number of 1350 posters submitted by more than 1000 authors. Additionally, 2500 delegates were registered. This emphasizes the vitality and skills of the French scientific community, which largely contributes to EMC with quality scientific works".

Thanks to a well-designed scientific program and a wonderful exhibition area with over 120 attractive company stands, the conference was highly appreciated by the delegates. We like to thank the exhibitors very much for their attention and support and the attendants for their presence and scientific input. Besides the conference, however, it should also be noted that the City of Lyon was a perfect host and found to offer many possibilities to spend the evenings with colleagues because of its "art of living" and culture. On Monday August 29th, the EMS Executive Board met for the last time in its 2012 - 2016 composition. During the EMS General Council on Thursday September 1st, those members who ended their membership of the Board received congratulations and a commemorative plaque expressing the gratitude of the society for their contributions (see also EMS newsletter 53). Reports of the meeting, JEOL-EM award winning lectures and EMS scholarships will be published in the 2016 EMS Yearbook.

The General Council also discussed and accepted the proposal for the next venue of the European Microscopy Congress in 2020 after presentation of 5 bidding destinations: Basel, Catania, Copenhagen, Ljubljana, Maastricht. The General Council decided that Copenhagen will be the host city of EMC2020. We are looking forward to this date and hope to meet you all there! A new structure for the membership fees of the corporate members was also discussed and accepted. Individual membership fees will be increased from  $5 \in$  to  $7 \in$ .

:

During the EMS General Assembly, attended by over 120 members, the presidential and financial reports were accepted. Thierry Epicier delivered a short report on EMC 2016. The General Assembly also accepted the new EMS Executive Board, which will be in office starting after EMC 2016 till September 2020. The 14 members of this new Executive Board are:

- President: Josef ZWECK (Regensburg, Germany)
- Past-president: Roger Albert WEPF (St Lucia, Australia)
- Secretary: Virginie SERIN (Toulouse, France)
- Treasurer: Christian SCHÖFER (Vienna, Austria)
- Chair of EMC 2020: Klaus QVORTRUP (Copenhagen, Denmark)
- Chair of the last EMC: Thierry EPICIER (Villeurbanne, France)
- European Corporate Member Assembly (ECMA) representative: Stefan KUYPERS (JEOL, Zaventem, Belgium)
- Cristiano ALBONETTI (Bologna, Italy)
- Serap ARBAK (Istanbul, Turkey)
- Randi HOLMESTAD (Trondheim, Norway, PMS)
- Agnes KITTEL (Budapest, Hungary)
- Peter NELLIST (Oxford, United Kingdom)
- José María VALPUESTA (Madrid, Spain)
- Igor WEBER (Zagreb, Croatia)

The Congress dinner was held in a former sugar warehouse on the confluence between the Rhone and Saone rivers. Roger Wepf warmly thanked Nick Schryvers for his 12 years' service as the Secretary General of the EMS. As a sign of gratitude, he received a collectible, a beautifully hand-crafted optical microscope.

At the congress dinner, the plaques for the EMS Outstanding Paper Awards were handed over to Feist A. (Instrumentation and Technique Development), Yang H. (Materials Sciences), and Alsteens D. (Life Sciences).

The closing session on Friday was well-attended thanks to the lectures of Angus Kirkland (Materials Sciences award) and Niels de Jonge (Life Sciences award), winners of the quadrennial 2016 JEOL – European Microscopy Awards in Life and Physical sciences, respectively (for more details see newsletter 53).

Closing this newsletter, we like to thank the now Past-president Dr. Roger Albert WEPF for

his invaluable contributions to the society as President, and Dr. Nick Schryvers for his kind support to the society as Secretary in the past years.

We are convinced that their expertise will remain of great help to the new Board.

## Contact

Prof. Dr. Virginie SERIN CEMES - CNRS Centre d'Élaboration de Matériaux et d'Etudes Structurales (UPR 8011) 29, rue Jeanne Marvig, BP 94347 31055 Toulouse Cedex 4 France virginie.serin@cemes.fr



NEWS FROM EMS

