

Dear colleagues,

At the end of August many of us gathered at the EMS Extension MC2013 in the beautiful town of Regensburg. This meeting, jointly organized by 10 (ten!) national microscopy societies, was a great success with over 1100 scientific attendants and more than 50 registered companies. Our congratulations to Reinhard Rachel and Josef Zweck and their team for a job well done.

With these numbers the regional MC2013 meeting matches the size of the European meeting in 2004 in Antwerp. It is thus safe to say that the interest in all forms of microscopy keeps growing and also that the aim of the EMS to organize or support large annual meetings of interest to a large audience from many European countries and regions is close to being reached. The successful campaign to organize IMC2014 in Prague of course again ensures a major microscopy meeting in Europe in the coming year. As a direct consequence, no EMS Extension will take place in 2014 and most supporting efforts will be directed towards IMC2014. On the other hand, agreements made or announced during MC2013 ensure a further convergence between organizing local societies. For example, the next MCM congress will be organized in Hungary in 2015 with Turkey now incorporated

as one of the organizing societies. In the same year the Microscience Microscopy Congress (former Microscience) will be jointly run by RMS and EMAG in a two-year cycle. Of course, the by now standard EMS support for sponsored events, about 8 per year, is still continuing. The list of sponsored events for the first half of 2014 will soon be available at the website.

At the congress dinner at MC2013 the plaques for the EMS Outstanding Paper Awards were handed over to Burcu Ögüt (Materials Sciences), Dirk Van Dyck (Instrumentation and Technique Development) and Raimond Ravelli (Life Sciences). The General Assembly accepted the activity and financial reports of the period after emc2012 and the Executive Board gathered to discuss some new initiatives for the coming year. A report of all these activities at MC2013 will be published in the 2013 EMS Yearbook. If you have organized some special activity in 2013, if you have won a prize, if you want to commemorate a colleague, etc. do send us your report or information for inclusion in the next Yearbook.

In a few weeks you will all receive the announcement of the next round of the EMS Outstanding Paper Award. With the first three years behind us the concept seems to be well accepted and we look forward to again receiving many excellent papers. We also like to take this opportunity to thank the members of the first jury (Alan Craven, Etienne Snoeck, Bob Pond, Wolfgang Jaeger, José Carrascosa and Varpu Marjomäki) who we hope had a great time in reading the papers but most of all helped to shape the success of this award. The new jury who will judge the contributions in the coming three years consists of Alice Warley (UK), Alberto Diaspro (Italy), Manfred Ruhle (Germany), Eva Olsen (Sweden), Christian Colliex (France) and Dirk Van Dyck (Belgium). Rik Brydson will continue to chair the jury. We are convinced that this team again will select outstanding papers in the respective categories.

Contact
Prof. Dr. D. Schryvers, Ph.D.
Electron Microscopy for Materials Science (EMAT)
Department of Physics
University of Antwerp, Belgium
nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be