

## **EMS Newsletter 39, October 2012**

## Dear colleagues,

Many of us have spent an amazing week at the 15th European Microscopy Congress *emc2012* in Manchester. Thanks to a well-designed scientific program and a wonderful exhibition area with over 130 attractive company stands and including the outstanding RMS learning zone the congress attracted over 3000 attendants, a new record. We very much like to thank the RMS for the organization, the exhibitors for their attention and support and the attendants for their presence and scientific input.

On Monday September 17 the EMS Executive Board met for the last time in its 2008 – 2012 composition and during the EMS General Council on Tuesday those members who end their membership of the Board received congratulations and a commemorative plaque expressing the gratitude of the society for their contributions (see also EMS newsletter 38). Reports of the meeting, FEI-EMaward winning lectures and EMS scholarships will be published in the 2012 EMS Yearbook.

The General Council also discussed and accepted the proposal for the next venue of the European Microscopy Congress in 2016 after a presentation of the bid of Lyon by Thierry Epicier. A new structure for the membership fees of the corporate members was also discussed and accepted. Individual membership fees remain unchanged, i.e.,  $5 \notin$  when member of a national or regional society in Europe or  $25 \notin$  for all others. During the EMS General Assembly, attended by over 80 members, the presidential and financial reports were accepted, as well as the report of the auditors spanning the period of 2009 till 2012. Debbie Stokes delivered a short report on *emc2012* while Pavel Hozak presented the status of the preparations for IMC 2014 in Prague. The General Assembly also accepted the new EMS Executive Board, which will be in office starting after *emc2012* till September 2016. The 14 members of this new Executive Board are (LS = Life Science; PMS = Physics and Materials Sciences):

- President: Roger Wepf (Zürich, Switserland, LS)
- Past-president: Paul Midgley (Cambridge, UK, PMS)
- Secretary: Dominique (Nick) Schryvers (Antwerp, Belgium, PMS)
- Treasurer: Christian Schöfer (Vienna, Austria, LS)
- Chair of the next EMC: Thierry Epicier (Lyon, France, PMS)
- Chair of the last EMC: Debbie Stokes (Cambridge, UK, PMS)
- European Corporate Member Assembly (ECMA) representative: Stefan Kuypers (JEOL)
- Serap Arbak (Istanbul, Turkey, LS)
- Rik Brydson (Leeds, UK, PMS)
- Maria Carmo-Fonseca (Lisbon, Portugal, LS)
- Aleksandra Czyrska-Filemonowicz (Krakow, Poland, PMS)

- Randi Holmestad (Trondheim, Norway, PMS)
- Pavel Hozak (Prague, Czech Republic, LS)
- Joachim Mayer (Aachen, Germany, PMS)

At the congress dinner in the large ballrooms of Old Trafford, Paul Midgley handed over the plaques for the EMS Outstanding Paper Awards to Velimir Radmilovic (Materials Sciences), Sandra Van Aert (Instrumentation and Technique Development) and Marlieke Jongsma (Life Sciences). The closing session on Friday was well-attended thanks to the lectures of Yves Dufrêne and Mathieu Kociak, the two winners of the quadrennial 2012 FEI-European Microscopy Awards in Life and Physical sciences, respectively (for more details see newsletter 38).

Closing this newsletter we like to thank the now Past-president Paul Midgley for his invaluable contributions to the society as President in the past four years. We are convinced that his expertise will remain of great help to the new Board.

## Contact

Prof. Dr. D. Schryvers, Ph.D. Electron Microscopy for Materials Science (EMAT) Department of Physics University of Antwerp, Belgium Tel.: +32 3 2653247 Fax: +32 3 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be