



January, 2017

Rules EMS outstanding paper award (EMS OutPA)

Papers containing original work in the field of microscopy.

Categories: (i) Instrumentation and Technique Development, (ii) Materials Sciences and (iii) Life Sciences

Eligibility

- prize for year N goes to papers published between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 of year N and will be awarded in year N+1
- eligible papers need to be published in a peer-reviewed journal with a known impact factor
- eligible papers must contain original data, review articles will be not considered
- eligible papers shall not be part of a proceedings series
- members of the **EMS Board** and of the **jury of the EMS OutPA** cannot be the (co-) author of a nominated paper *

Selection

- one paper per year and per category: Instrumentation and Technique Development, Materials Sciences, Life Sciences (thus 3 awards each year). The jury reserves the right not to award the prize in one or more of the categories.
- judging shall be on the basis of scientific merit, technical and general quality, expected impact, originality, relevance to microscopy (note this order does not reflect any order of importance)
- nominations may arise from any individual EMS member who is not part of the author list of the nominated paper. Nominations shall be submitted directly to the chair of the EMS OutPA Board or to the EMS Secretary
- each eligible EMS member can only nominate one paper
- a cover letter from the eligible EMS member nominating the paper and describing why this paper is a good candidate for the EMS OutPA must be included. The letter should also include the category to which the paper is nominated (i.e. Instrumentation and Technique Development, Materials Sciences or Life Sciences)
- the deadline for submission for papers for the award of year N is Jan. 15 of year N+1







- a paper can only be nominated in one given year

Prize

- the prize consists of 1000 euro (one thousand) plus a plaque for the first author(s) (per awarded paper) and printed awards for all authors (in the case where more than one author is indicated in the publication to have equally contributed to the work, the prize can be divided and multiple plaques will be awarded)
- the prize will be announced in the first quarter of the year N+1

Reporting

- it is hoped that a presentation ceremony for each award can be arranged at one of the European microscopy meetings of year N+1
- prize winners will be listed on the EMS website
- prize winners are required to write a one page abstract for Yearbook N+1 (aimed at a general microscopy audience)

Awarding Board members

- the Awarding Board or "jury" consists of 6 people. 2 jury members are selected per category (Instrumentation and Technique Development, Materials Sciences, Life Sciences), but all have voting rights over all submitted papers
- one EMS Board member chairs the Awarding Board and is responsible for timely actions, gathering info, reporting,
- voting in the jury is performed in a transparent way (not anonymous) (e-mail votes are eligible)
- the chair has no voting rights, except for a final selection in case of a balanced vote
- voting members have a maximum term of 3 years, the EMS person responsible as chair can serve several terms
- EMS does not provide any funds for the members of the jury (communications are expected to occur by e-mail, no face-to-face meetings are requested)
- the names of the jury members are made public as a single list (no categories listed)

