

#### **Minutes of the GENERAL ASSEMBLY of EMS**

held at *emc2012* in Manchester, UK (Thursday, September 20, 2012, **12.15 till 13.30**, Charter Room 4)

According to the Constitution, a General Assembly of all individual EMS members will be held at least once a year. The EMS is a European Society with over 5.500 individual members. It is important that EMS members gather, discuss and determine the framework in which they communicate and cooperate. For details on the Constitution, see the EMS website: <a href="http://www.eurmicsoc.org">http://www.eurmicsoc.org</a>.

<u>Summary of the rules</u>: All paid-up EMS members, including members of the Executive Board, have one vote. A quorum of 50 members is needed. The General Assembly will be chaired by the President of EMS. Decisions of the General Assembly are taken by a simple majority of votes (except for changes of the statutes). Two representatives of ECMA (European Corporate Member Assembly) have voting rights in the General Assembly.

Members present: 73 (see list below) For extra documents, see agenda

Start of the meeting: 12.20

- 1. After a short welcome of the President, the agenda of the General Assembly *is confirmed.*
- 2. The minutes of the 2011 General Assembly held during the EMS Extension MCM2011 in Urbino *are approved*.
- 3. The President, Paul Midgley, presents his report describing the activities of the Executive Board and the EMS in the period Sep. 2011 Aug. 2012. The report *is accepted*.
- 4. The Treasurer, Christian Schöfer presents the financial report for 2011 & prospects for 2012/2013. These reports *are accepted*.
- 5. The financial auditors, Prof. H. Peter Karnthaler and Prof. Werner Mader, present their report for the period 2008 2012. The report is accepted. The President thanks the auditors for their work and input. As for the remark on expenses exceeding the income, since the total of funds on the account is still sufficient, the Board indicates that they do not want to cut back on support for scholarships and meetings. Since only two Board meetings are held per year and of which one is at a microscopy meeting, not much cost reduction is possible in this item.
- 6. The proposal for two new financial auditors, Dr. Johannes Bernardi (Treasurer ASEM) and Dr. Philippe Leclère (Treasurer BSM), for the period 2012 2016 is presented. The proposal *is accepted* by applause.
- 7. Pavel Hozak gives the status of the preparations for IMC 2014. The preparations are well underway and the President wishes the organizers all success.

President EMS
Paul Midgley

University of Cambridge
Dept. of Materials Science &
Metallurgy

tel.-fax: +44-1223 334561 / 334567

e-mail: pam33@cam.ac.uk

Secretary EMS

Dominique Schryvers

UA - EMAT

Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria

+43-14 27761338 / 2779613

 $\underline{christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at}$ 



- The decision of the Board to award the EMS Extension 2013 to the MC2013 meeting in 8. Regensburg, jointly organized by 10 societies, is confirmed.
- The decision of the General Council to award the Lyon bid for the organization of EMC 9. 2016 is confirmed.
- A list of coming EMS activities is presented by the President and accepted. 10.
- The new Executive Board for the period EMC 2012 EMC 2016 is presented. The new Board is accepted by applause.
- In the aim of ensuring a more transparent process for future Board elections, it is 12. suggested to change article VII.4 of the constitution into "Written proposals are to be received by the Secretary nine (9) months prior to the date of elections."
- Debbie Stokes gives a short status report of emc2012 and thanks all the delegates for 13. their support.
- Roger Wepf, the new elected President, thanks Paul Midgley, the now former 14. President, and the other members of the previous Board for their support to the society during the past years. He hopes the new Board will be able to continue along the same route to further support and enhance European microscopy in all its forms.

15. Closing of the meeting: 13:30

Paul Midgley, EMS President

Nick Schryvers, EMS Secretary

University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy



### Members present

Prof	Coron	A rhale	TEMP
Dr	Serap	Arbak Balboni	TEMD SISM
Mr	Roberto Eric		RMS
Dr	Jose	Bennett Calvino	SME
Dr Mr	Marco	Campura	SSOM/SFµ PTMi
	Grzegorz	Cempura	
Prof.	Christian	Colliex	SFμ
Ms	Priscille	Cuvillier	SFµ
Prof	Aleksandra	Czyrska-filemonevic	PTMi
Dr D::	Winnok	De Vos	BSM
Dr	Dagmar	Dietrich	DGE
Dr	Beata	Dubiel	PTMi
Prof	Thierry	Epicier	SFμ
_	Gozde	Erkanli Senturk	TEMD
Dr	Ludek	Frank	CSMS
_	Martin	Friedrich	ECMA
Dr	Thomas	Gemming	DGE
Dr	Max	Haider	ECMA/DGE
_	Walid	Hetaba	ASEM
Dr.	Crispin	Hetherington	RMS
Dr	Rebecca	Higginson	EMAG/RMS
Prof	Pavel	Hozak	CSMS
Dr	Damien	Jacob	SFμ
Dr	Wolfgang	Jaeger	DGE
Mr	Quentin	Jeangros	SSOM
Mrs	Lucile	Joly-pottuz	SFμ
Mr	Toshikatsu	Kaneyama	ECMA
Ms	Agnes	Kittel	HSM
Dr	Mariana	Klementova	CSMS
Prof	Helmut	Kohl	DGE
	Pinar	Koroglu	TEMD
Prof.	Abraham	Koster	NVvM
Dr	Adam	Kruk	PTMi
	Vladislav	Krzyzanek	CSMS
Mr	Krzysztof	Kulawik	PTMi
Dr	Stefan	Kuypers	ECMA
Mr	Yang	Liu	SFμ
Mrs	Françoise	Livolant	DGE
	Stefan	LOffler	ASEM
Dr	Martina	Luysberg	DGE
Prof	Karine	Masenelli-varlo	$SF\mu$

President EMS
Paul Midgley
University of Cambridge
Dant of Matagials Science

University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy

tel.-fax : +44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail : pam33@cam.ac.uk Secretary EMS

Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria

+43-14 27761338 / 2779613

christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at



Prof	Joachim	Mayer	DGE
Dr	Grzegorz	Michta	PTMi
Prof	Paul	Midgley	EMAG
Dr	Ilkka	Miinalainen	SCANDEM
Dr	Guenter	Moebus	RMS
Dr	Tomasz	Moskalewicz	PTMi
Mrs	Jana	Nebesárová	CSMS
Prof	Margit	Pavelka	ASEM
Dr	Francesca	Peiró	SME
Prof	Reinhard	Rachel	DGE
Prof.	Mark	Rainforth	EMAG/RMS
	Dragan	Rajnovic	SSM
Miss	Karsten	Richter	DGE
Prof	Rok	Romih	SDM
Dr	Jan	Rusz	CSMS
Mr	Bogdan	Rutkowski	PTMi
Prof	Robin	Schaublin	SSOM
Mr	Simon	Schneider	SSOM
Dr	Christian	Schöfer	ASEM
Prof	Nick	Schryvers	BSM
Dr	Alexander	Schwedt	DGE
Prof	Virginie	Serin	SFμ
Dr	Wilfried	Sigle	DGE
Dr	Miroslav	Slouf	CSMS
Dr	Raija	Sormunen	SCANDEM
Dr.	Debbie	Stokes	RMS
Dr	Tatana	Vackova	CSMS
Dr	Bénédicte	Warot-fonrose	$SF\mu$
Dr	Roger	Wepf	SSOM
Ms	Selma	Yilmazer	TEMD
Mr	Hui	Yuan	SFμ
Prof	Josef	Zweck	DGE

President EMS
Paul Midgley
University of Cambridge
Dept. of Materials Science &
Metallurgy

tel.-fax : +44-1223 334561 / 334567

e-mail: pam33@cam.ac.uk

Secretary EMS
Dominique Schryvers

UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria

+43-14 27761338 / 2779613

christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at