EUROPEAN MICROSCOPY SOCIETY



Minutes of the GENERAL ASSEMBLY of EMS

held at the EMS Extension MICROSCIENCE 2010 in London (Tuesday, June 29, 2010, **13.00 till 14.00**, lecture theatre A)

According to the Constitution, a General Assembly of all individual EMS members will be held at least once a year. The EMS is a European Society with over 5.500 individual members. It is important that EMS members gather, discuss and determine the framework in which they communicate and cooperate. For details on the Constitution, see the EMS website: http://www.eurmicsoc.org.

<u>Summary of the rules</u>: All paid-up EMS members, including members of the Executive Board, have one vote. A quorum of 50 members is needed. The General Assembly will be chaired by the President of EMS. Decisions of the General Assembly are taken by a simple majority of votes (except for changes of the statutes). Two representatives of ECMA (European Corporate Member Assembly) have voting rights in the General Assembly.

Present: 28 members

Remark: since the quorum of 50 members was not reached during the London meeting, a report of the meeting was submitted to an e-voting procedure, as stipulated in article V.6 of the statutes.

Start of the meeting: 13.05

- Since the President is excused, the former President, Ueli Aebi chairs and opens the meeting. After a short welcome of the former President, the agenda of the General Assembly is confirmed.
- 2. The minutes of the 2009 General Assembly held during the EMS extension MC2009 in Graz *are accepted*.
- 3. The report of the President, describing the activities of the Executive Board and the EMS in the period Sep. 2009 –June 2010, is presented by the Secretary and *is approved* (GA PD 3 1).
- 4. Debbie Stokes, chair of EMC 2012, gives a short overview of the status of the preparations for EMC 2012. The report *is approved* (GA PD 4 1). Four applications for EMS Extension in 2011 have been received and will be treated by the Board in the coming weeks.
- 5. The Secretary reports on the status of the IMC18 bid from Czech society (after a short recollection of the history). This bid will be supported by EMS. Mails will be sent to the member societies asking them to nominate all delegates to the IFSM GA and to support the Prague bid as much as possible (GA_PD_5_1).
- 6. The Treasurer reports on the 2009 budget and the prospects for 2010/2011 (GA PD 6 1; GA PD 6 2). The report is accepted.

President EMS

Paul Midgley
University of Cambridge
Dept. of Materials Science &
Metallurgy

tel.-fax: +44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail: pam33@cam.ac.uk Secretary EMS

Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer
Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology
Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, Austria

+43-14 27761338 / 2779613

 $\underline{christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at}$

EUROPEAN MICROSCOPY SOCIETY



- 7. The President sums up some planned future EMS activities for the coming year (GA PD 7 1). No comments or other suggestions are raised.
- 8. The former President closes the meeting at 14.05

Paul Midgley EMS President Nick Schryvers EMS Secretary

Members present

Participants to the 2010 EMS GA, Tuesday June 29, London, ExCel

Last name	First name	Member society
Hertsens	Robert	BVM (Board member; ECMA representative)
Stump	Leslie	RMS
Cao	Shanshan	BVM
Wang	Binjie	BVM
Leroux	Frederic	BVM
Wang	Amy	BVM
Spiller	David	RMS
Epicier	Thierry	SFμ
Hetherington	Crispin	RMS
Stokes	Debbie	RMS (Board member)
Rainforth	Mark	RMS
Coleman	Raymond	RMS/ISM
Klementova	Mariana	CSMS

President EMS

Paul Midgley University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy

tel.-fax:+44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail: pam33@cam.ac.uk Secretary EMS

Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria

+43-14 27761338 / 2779613

christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at

EUROPEAN MICROSCOPY SOCIETY



	\mathbf{V}	,
Winton	Allison	RMS
Brydson	Rik	RMS/EMAG (Board member)
Haigh	Sarah	RMS/EMAG
Van Dyck	Dirk	BVM/NVvM
Sedlárová	Michaela	CSMS
De Knoop	Ludvig	ECMA
Olsson	Eva	SCANDEM
Qvortrup	Klaus	RMS
Romih	Rok	SDM
Boncina	Tonica	SDM
Zupanic	Franc	SDM
Mayer	Joachim	DGE (Board member)
Aebi	Ueli	SSOM (Board member; past- president)
Schöfer	Christian	ASEM (Board member; treasurer)
Schryvers	Nick	BVM (Board member; secretary)

President EMS Paul Midgley University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy

tel.-fax:+44-1223 334561/334567

e-mail: pam33@cam.ac.uk

Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers

UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria

+43-14 27761338 / 2779613

christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at