

Minutes of the GENERAL ASSEMBLY of EMS

held at the EMS Extension MC2009 in Graz (Thursday, September 3, 2009, Stefaniensaal (the big lecture hall))

According to the Constitution, a General Assembly of all individual EMS members will be held at least once a year. The EMS is a European Society with over 5.000 individual members. It is important that EMS members gather, discuss and determine the framework in which they communicate and cooperate. For details on the Constitution, see the EMS website: <u>http://www.eurmicsoc.org</u>.

<u>Summary of the rules</u>: All paid-up EMS members, including members of the Executive Board, have one vote. A quorum of 50 members is needed. The General Assembly will be chaired by the President of EMS. Decisions of the General Assembly are taken by a simple majority of votes (except for changes of the statutes). Two representatives of ECMA (European Corporate Member Assembly) have voting rights in the General Assembly.

Present: see list below

Start of the meeting: 13.00

- 1. After a short welcome of the President, meanwhile congratulating the organizers of MC2009 with a very successful conference, the agenda of the General Assembly *is confirmed*
- 2. The minutes of the 2008 General Assembly held during the EMS congress EMC 2008 in Aachen (Thursday, September 4, 2008) *are approved* (GA_PD_2_1)
- 3. The report of the President, describing the activities of the Executive Board and the EMS in the period Sep. 2008 Aug. 2009 *is approved* (GA_PD_3_1)
- 4. The installation of the new Treasurer, Christian Schöfer, from the Medical University of Vienna, Austria, and who took over from Leo Ginsel in February 2009, *is confirmed* by the General Assembly by clapping of hands (GA_PD_4_1)
- 5. The status of the preparations for the EMC 2012 in ExCel, London, is presented by the President and *accepted* by the General Assembly. So far no applications have been submitted for the EMS Extension 2010, but the Board is in contact with two potential candidates. The list of 10 EMS sponsored events in 2009 is presented and *accepted* by the General Assembly (GA_PD_5_1).
- 6-7-8 The newly elected Treasurer presents his report on the previous year (2008) (GA_PD_6_1; GA_PD_6_2) followed by a budget prospect for 2009 (GA_PD_7_1) and 2010 (GA_PD_8_1). One comment arises on a note in the budget proposal for 2010 stating 1.500 and 2.500 euro for support of "extension IMC17". It is explained that this is a technical error, since IMC cannot be an EMS extension. This will be corrected in the final version (the note "IMC17" will be deleted). After this, the report and proposals *are accepted*.
- 9. The financial auditors *accept* the status of the account over the period 2004-2008 (cf. minutes GA 2008). The necessary material has been provided by the Treasurer.

President EMS Paul Midgley University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy tel.-fax : +44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail : pam33@cam.ac.uk

Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at



- 10. The President sums up some planned future EMS activities for the coming year (GA_PD_10_1). No comments are raised.
- 11. The President presents the outcome of the EMS pre-selection of bids for IMC 2014. The Board was very pleased to have received three well-considered and carefully prepared bids At the start of the meeting it was decided that if one candidate would receive more than half the number of votes after the first round, then that bid would be supported by EMS. After a single voting round, the Prague bid did indeed reach this threshold with 12 votes against 7 for Istanbul and 4 for Lisbon. As a result, the Prague bid will be the official European bid for IMC 2014 and will be supported by EMS. In Rio, a Czech delegation will present Prague as the best destination for IMC 2014, and we urge European national and regional societies to ensure their presence during the IFSM General Assembly and very much hope that their representatives vote for the European candidate. The General Assembly *confirms* this selection.
- 12. The President closes the meeting at 13.50

. Midgley

Paul Midgley EMS President

Nick Schryvers EMS Secretary

President EMS

Paul Midgley University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy tel.-fax : +44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail : pam33@cam.ac.uk

Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA – EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at



Members present

ASEM ASEM BVM/SBM CSEM CSEM CSMS DGE DGE	Hans-Peter Karnthaler Margit Pavelka Christian Schöfer (Treasurer) Nick Schryvers (Secretary) Ognjen Milat Srecko Gajovic Frank Ludek Lucie Kubinova Martin Capek Mika Pavel Hozak (Board member) Bernd Rellinghaus Darius Pohl Dietrich Hesse Florian Banhart Heinz Schwarz Ines Häusler Joachim Mayer (Board member) Josef Zweck Jürgen Thomas Kurt Scheerschmidt Manuel Rainer Dries Max Haider Michaele Bräuniger Reinhard Rachel Thomas Gemming Thomas Riedl Vladislav Krzyzanek Werner Mader Wilfried Sigle Wolfgang Jäger Helmut Kohl Aleksandra Czyrska-Filemonowicz (Board member) Debbie Stokes (Board member) Paul Midgley (President) Lina Gefors Raija Sormunen (Board member) Rita Wallén Rok Romih Marie Cheynet (Board member) Amelia Montone
SDM	Rok Romih
SFµ	Marie Cheynet (Board member)
SISM	Amelia Montone
SISM	Carlo Pellicciari
SISM	Daniela Quaglino
SISM	Elisabetta Falcieri
SISM	Manuela Malatesta

President EMS

Paul Midgley University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy tel.-fax : +44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail : <u>pam33@cam.ac.uk</u>

Secretary EMS

Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at



SISM SISM SME SPMicros SSM SSOM SSOM SSOM SSOM SSOM TEMD TEMD TEMD TEMD TEMD Marco Vittori Antisari (Board member) Sara Salucci Jose L. Carrascosa António P. Alvas de Matos Radenka Krsmanovic Aïcha Hessler-Wyser Gianni Morson Kurt Pulfer Paul Walther Ueli Aebi (Board member) Feriha Ercan Melek Ozturk Selma Yilmazer Serap Arbak (Board member) Suzan Daglioglu

President EMS

Paul Midgley University of Cambridge Dept. of Materials Science & Metallurgy tel.-fax : +44-1223 334561 / 334567 e-mail : pam33@cam.ac.uk

Secretary EMS

Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium

+32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at