EUROPEAN MICROSCOPY SOCIETY



Agenda of the GENERAL ASSEMBLY of EMS

to be held at the EMS extension "8th Multinational Congress on Microscopy" in Prague (Wednesday, June 20, 2007, 14.30 till 15.30)

According to the Constitution, a General Assembly of all individual EMS members will be held at least once a year. The EMS is a European Society with over 4.800 individual members. It is important that EMS members gather, discuss and determine the framework in which they communicate and cooperate. For details on the Constitution, see the EMS website: http://www.eurmicsoc.org.

<u>Summary of the rules</u>: All paid-up EMS members, including members of the Executive Board, have one vote. A quorum of 50 members is needed. The General Assembly will be chaired by the President of EMS. Decisions of the General Assembly are taken by a simple majority of votes (except for changes of the statutes). Two representatives of ECMA (European Corporate Member Assembly) have voting rights in the General Assembly.

Agenda

- 1. Confirmation of the agenda of the General Assembly
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the 2006 General Assembly held during the NVvM & BVM/SBM Joint Meeting in Lunteren, distributed by electronic mail and available at the EMS website at *www.eurmicsoc.org/minutes.html*
- Report of the President, describing the activities of the Executive Board and the EMS in the period Nov. 2006 – Jun. 2007
- 4. Status EMC 2008, EMS extensions & sponsored events
- 5. Report of the Treasurer for the year 2006 (<u>attachment 1</u>, <u>attachment 2</u>)
- 6. Budget prospects for the year 2007 (attachment)
- 7. Concept budget for the year 2008 (attachment)
- 8. Prospect on EMS activities
- 9. Any further matter to be discussed
- 10. Closing of the meeting

Mel i fet

Ueli Aebi EMS President

Nick Schryvers EMS Secretary

President EMS Ueli Aebi Univ.Basel, MIH am Biozentrum Basel, Switzerland tel.-fax : +41/61/2672261-2672109 e-mail : ueli.aebi@unibas.ch Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium +32/3/2653247-2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS Leo A. Ginsel KUN, TRIGON Nijmegen, Netherlands +31/24/3616449 I.ginsel@anat.umcn.nl Bank: Postbank NL always mention BIC: INGBNL 2A and IBAN: NL95PSTB0004443344 EUROPEAN MICROSCOPY SOCIETY



President EMS

Ueli Aebi Univ.Basel, MIH am Biozentrum Basel, Switzerland tel.-fax : +41/61/2672261-2672109 e-mail : <u>ueli.aebi@unibas.ch</u> Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA - EMAT Antwerp, Belgium +32/3/2653247-2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be

Treasurer EMS

Leo A. Ginsel KUN, TRIGON Nijmegen, Netherlands +31/24/3616449 Lginsel@anat.umcn.nl Bank: Postbank NL always mention BIC: INGBNL 2A and IBAN: NL95PSTB0004443344