

Minutes of the EMS GENERAL COUNCIL

Held at EMC2016 in Lyon, France (Tuesday, August 30, 16:45 till 18.00, room: Salon Tête d'Or).

Present see list below: 25 representatives with voting rights and from 21 societies were present.

Board members present: Nick Schryvers (Secretary), Pavel Hozak, Thierry Epicier, Roger Wepf (President), Paul Midgley, Debbie Stokes, Rick Brydson, Christian Schöfer (Treasurer), Stefan Kuypers, Arbak Serap, Aleksandra Czyrska-Filemonovicz, Randi Holmestad, Joachim Mayer

Start of the meeting 16.45

1. Acceptation of membership of new national society

Romanian Electron Microscopy Society (SREM), headed by Dr. Bogdan Stefan VASILE, President, University Polytechnica, Bucharest. At present, they have around 80 members. (at the EMS Board meeting in Eger, 27-07-2015, the society was preliminary accepted as an en-bloc society, waiting for the confirmation at the GC at EMC2016, Lyon).

2. Annual fees

In the past, the financial situation allowed EMS to pursue its activities such as support of meetings, scholarships and prices at good levels. In order to maintain this level in the future, some corrections need to be done to the EMS budget, ideally both at the incomings and at expenditure sides (see separate .xls table). Measures have already been set to reduce administrative expenses. An increase on the major incomings position, i.e. the membership fees, would make the EMS budget fit for the future. A raise of the annual membership contribution per member from presently $5 \in$ to $7 \in$ would best fit the current number of scholarship and meeting support applications. An increase to $10 \notin$ would buffer against future raising costs and would enable to increase the amount of support provided. It should be added that since the foundation of EMS in 1998 no increase of fees has occurred.

President EMS Roger Wepf EMEZ ETH Zürich

Zürich, Switzerland (+ 41) 44 6334558 / 79 8322230 roger.wepf@scopem.ethz.ch Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA – EMAT

Antwerp, Belgium +32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at



Permanent Secretariat: Marina Vita, MCO Congrès, Marseille, France + 33 4 9509 3800 ems@myeventonline.net





The General Council accepted to raise the annual membership fee from $5 \in$ to $7 \in$ from 2017 onwards.

3. Venue of the next EMC (in 2020)

Five bids for the organisation of EMC2020 have been received by the deadline of May 31, 2016. The proposed sites are as follows

- 1. Basel, Switzerland
- 2. Catania, Italy
- 3. Copenhagen, Denmark
- 4. Ljubljana, Slovenia
- 5. Maastricht, The Netherlands

The five bidding teams presented their application to host EMC2020. The questions rose mainly dealt with:

- Adequacy of the Convention Centre to welcome a large exhibition of microscope manufacturers

- Hotel accommodation capacity

The voting at the GC was made according to the *last one drops out* concept until one bid receives a majority (> 50% of the votes (blank votes not included)). Ballot forms were provided.

The results were:

- 21 votes for Copenhagen
- 9 votes for Maastricht
- 8 votes for Ljubljana
- 1 vote for Basel
- 1 vote for Catania

4. Any further matter to be discussed: none

Closing of the meeting: 18:00

Roger WEPF EMS President Nick SCHRYVERS EMS Secretary

President EMS Roger Wepf EMEZ ETH Zürich

Zürich, Switzerland (+ 41) 44 6334558 / 79 8322230 roger.wepf@scopem.ethz.ch Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA – EMAT

Antwerp, Belgium +32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at



Permanent Secretariat: Marina Vita, MCO Congrès, Marseille, France + 33 4 9509 3800 ems@myeventonline.net



Delegates present

Austrian Society for Electron Microscopy (ASEM) Belgian Society for Microscopy (BSM) Croatian Microscopy Society (CMS) Czechoslovak Microscopy Society (CSMS) Electron Microscopy and Analysis Group (Institute of Physics, EMAG) French Microscopy Society (FMS)

German Society for Electron Microscopy (DGE) Hellenic Microscopy Society (HMS) Hungarian Society for Microscopy (HMS) Israel Society for Microscopy (ISM) Italian Society of Microscopical Sciences (SISM)

Microscopical Society of Ireland (MSI) Nordic Microscopy Society (SCANDEM)

Polish Society for Microscopy (PTMi)

Portuguese Society for Microscopy (SPMicros) Romanian Electron Microscopy Society (REMS) Royal Microscopy Society (RMS)

Serbian Society for Microscopy (SSM) Slovene Society for Microscopy (SDM) Spanish Society for Microscopy (SME) Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy (TEMD) Ferdinand Hofer Sara Bals Igor Weber Jana Nebesarova Sarah Haigh; Andy Brown Guy Schoehn: Damien Jacob Michael Lehmann Philomena Komninou Agnes Kittel Yaron Kauffmann Roberto Balboni: Stefania Meschini **Ursel Bangert** Kesara Anamthawat Jonsson Aleksandra Czyrska-Filemonowicz Carlos Sa Bodgan Stefan Vasile Rik Brydson: Paul Verkade Draga Rajnovic Saso Sturm José Carrascosa Servet Turan

President EMS Roger Wepf EMEZ ETH Zürich

Zürich, Switzerland (+ 41) 44 6334558 / 79 8322230 roger.wepf@scopem.ethz.ch



ngrès) Permanent S

Secretary EMS Dominique Schryvers UA – EMAT

Antwerp, Belgium +32-3 2653247 / 2653257 nick.schryvers@ua.ac.be Treasurer EMS Christian Schöfer Center for Anatomy & Cell Biology Medical University of Vienna Vienna, Austria +43-14 27761338 / 2779613 christian.schoefer@meduniwien.ac.at

Permanent Secretariat: Marina Vita, MCO Congrès, Marseille, France + 33 4 9509 3800 ems@myeventonline.net