slide 2
Slide 3
retour accueil

EMS News

The Kavli Prize 2020

The Kavli Prize, awarded every second year, is endowed by a partnership between the Norwegian Academy of Sciences, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research and the Kavli Foundation. It acknowledges seminal work of scientists in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience.

This year, the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience has been awarded to four high-standard European microscopy researchers, Harald Rose (Ulm University and Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany), Maximilian Haider (CEOS GmbH, Germany), Knut Urban (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany), and  Ondrej Krivanek (Nion Co., US), for their contributions on "sub-Ångstrøm resolution imaging and chemical analysis using electron beams." Their discoveries enabled humanity to see the structure and chemical composition of materials in three dimensions on unprecedentedly short length scales.

The prize consists of $1 million € shared by all 4 winners.

The work of these brilliant scientists led to the creation of aberration corrected lenses and made sub-Ångstrøm imaging and chemical analysis in three dimensions a standard characterization method. Two of them have founded companies (Nion Co and CEOS GmbH) and commercialized their correctors contributing further to the major impact of their scientific work. Since then their microscopes have played an enormous role both in fundamental science and technology, where they are used, among others, by semiconductor, chemical and automotive industries.

Harald Rose's recognition is owed to proposing a novel lens design, the Rose corrector, enabling aberration correction in transmission electron microscopy that can be applied to both conventional and scanning microscopes.



Maximilian Haider's award is for the realization of the first sextupole corrector, based on Rose’s design, and for his role in the implementation of the first aberration corrected conventional transmission electron microscope.



Knut Urban is awarded for his role in the implementation of the first aberration corrected conventional transmission electron microscope.




Ondrej L Krivanek: The prize is in recognition of his work on the realization of the first aberration corrected scanning transmission electron microscope with sub-Ångstrøm resolution, well suited for spatially resolved chemical analysis using a quadrupole-octupole corrector.



The European Microscopy Society (EMS) congratulated these four geniuses of microscopy and wished them the best for the future.

[Show all]
Member Access
By navigating through this website's pages, you accept the use of cookies that will allow us to manage this website's statistics.