

## Dear EMS member,

By now you should have received the 2013 EMS Yearbook. We hope you have enjoyed reading the reports on the various activities of our society and members during the past year, e.g. the many inaugurations of new instruments and facilities throughout Europe, the appreciations written by students who received a scholarship to attend MC2013 in Regensburg as well as the papers written by the MC2013 EMS lecturers, etc.

For IMC 2014 in September of this year, EMS has received 80 applications for scholarships. In view of this large number, it was decided not to provide any funding for travel, but only to sponsor the early bird student registration fee of  $\in$  197. Based on this decision and other criteria including EMS membership, early stage and previous sponsorship, 58 applications were retained amounting to a total of  $\in$  11,426, which is the largest amount of student scholarship sponsoring ever provided by EMS.

During its most recent meeting the EMS Executive Board has received the decision of the Jury of the EMS Outstanding Paper Award for the year 2013. Of the 16 high quality papers, well spread over the different categories, the following were selected as award winners:

1. Instrumentation and Technique Development: "A new aberration-corrected, energy-filtered LEEM/PEEM instrument

II. Operation and results" by R.M. Tromp, J.B. Hannon, W. Wan, A. Berghaus & O. Schaff and published in Ultramicroscopy, 127 (2013) 25–39. The jury motivates its decision as follows: "Following an earlier paper in 2010 describing the principles and design of the instrument, this work is an excellent description of the final construction, alignment, characterization and operation of a brand new aberration-corrected and energy filtered LEEM/PEEM. Ultimate performance in LEEM is demonstrated to be very close to the theoretical limit."

2. Materials Sciences: "Dislocations in bilayer graphene" by Benjamin Butz, Christian Dolle, Florian Niekiel, Konstantin Weber, Daniel Waldmann, Heiko B. Weber, Bernd Meyer & Erdmann Spiecker and published on-line in Nature, doi:10.1038/nature12780. The jury motivates its decision as follows: "This paper uses conventional TEM techniques at their optimum in a study of dislocations in the thinnest possible layered material hosting line defects. Measurements are combined with both classical theory and atomistic simulations."

3. Life Sciences: "A mammalian KASH domain protein coupling meiotic chromosomes to the cytoskeleton" published by Henning F. Horn, Dae In Kim, Graham D. Wright, Esther Sook Miin Wong, Colin L. Stewart, Brian Burke & Kyle J. Roux in the Journal of Cell Biology, 202: 1023-1039. The jury motivates its decision as follows:

"This innovative paper uses a wide variety of different techniques both in vitro and in vivo to study a fundamental event in cell biology. The impact of the results will be over a wide range of cell biology."

We sincerely congratulate the authors of these winning papers who will receive their awards during the award ceremony at lunchtime on Wednesday September 10 at IMC 2014 in Prague later this year. We also thank the nominators of all papers and look forward to a new round next January for the 2014 papers.

At IMC 2014 the EMS Executive Board will also hold its second meeting of 2014, while the EMS General Assembly will take place on Wednesday September 10 following the EMS Outstanding Paper Award ceremony. In the coming months, the agenda for the latter will be distributed to all members.

For the second half of 2014, 10 applications for EMS sponsored events were received. The selected events will soon be communicated and listed on the website. The call for support as EMS Extension for 2015 (deadline for applications June 30) will be launched soon.

## Contact

Prof. Dr. D. Schryvers, Ph.D.

Electron Microscopy for Materials Science (EMAT)
Department of Physics
University of Antwerp, Belgium
nick.schryvers@uantwerpen.be